San Francisco

I was recently in San Francisco for a conference, and spent an extra week in the city playing tourist. The weather was lovely on the Monday of my extra week, so I rented a bike and explored a bit of the city on two wheels.

First stop: about 5km into my ride and I had to pull over in order to adjust the height of the seat.

My first stop was about 5km into my ride and I had to pull over in order to adjust the height of the seat.

My destination: the Golden Gate Bridge (rental bike in foreground on right).

Lots of people about enjoying the gorgeous day

Even though I bought a map with bike routes, it was fairly easy to figure out how to get to the Golden Gate bridge.

At the start of the crossing

Sharing the path with lots of other users wasn’t a problem. No anger between any users – such a welcome relief compared to attitudes in Sydney!

Sausalito – a cute and quiet little town, but there’s no avoiding the hills wherever you go in San Francisco!

The only real coffee I had while in San Francisco. These guys even gave my latte art! And it’s not that the teaspoon is small in that photo – there was a lot of coffee in my double!

I was already fed up with my rental bike on flat surfaces (how I missed my Merida Speeder that day) so I opted to take the ferry back into town instead of climbing up the hill to cross the bridge back.

But the ferry turned out to be a fantastic little ride – passing by Alcatraz and getting nice views of the city and the Bay Bridge!

One thought on “San Francisco

Leave a Reply

