Ricotta dumplings

I decided to venture to Eastlakes on the weekend – mainly because I’d lived nearby (less than 5km) for a couple of years now, but hadn’t visited. It’s an old little shopping plaza that probably needs a makeover, but has quite a few cheap greengrocers and butchers, a Woolies, an Aldi and a few other “specialty” stores. I knew of the little Eastern European store (Stolichniy Minimart) from this review of the shopping centre, so I had to pop in.

Much to my delight, I found some “Herbal pepper” from Poland – something that I came across earlier this year when I went home for a couple of weeks and visited a Polish restaurant in Dandenong. It was possibly the best thing from that lunch but discovered was a mix of herbs I didn’t like or don’t know if I like (coriander, caraway seeds, marjoram, chilli, horseradish powder and savory are amongst the spices listed on various websites with Pieprz Ziołowy recipes).

Polish herbal pepper, now on my spice shelf.

I thought of making pierogi, but couldn’t be bothered coming up with a gluten-free wrap or boiling potatoes for the filling. So I ended up making ricotta gnocchi, which I then pan-fried with bacon and onion (which is how mum and her mum serve pierogi – although they chop the bacon into small bits, and I was lazy and kept it in thin slices). The gnocchi recipe came from Simply Gluten Free, which I changed by replacing the nutmeg with the herbal pepper, and I drained the ricotta by wrapping it in a muslin cloth and squeezing the excess moisture out. I suspect the amount of potato starch (aka flour in Australia) would vary with how much moisture is left in the ricotta.

Ricotta gnocchi pan-fried with bacon and onion – light and fluffy dumplings!

The gnocchi were lovely on their own, but next time I’ll add more of the herbal pepper as its subtle flavour was lost with the addition of the bacon and onion. I’ll definitely make these again – especially since I only need to buy ricotta to make these as all the other ingredients are regulars of my pantry and fridge.

Leave a Reply

