Pizza crust quest – store wars, part 2

Being 40km and at least an hour away from getting home at 6.30pm on a Wednesday evening makes takeaway pizza sound very enticing – especially since Pizza Hut’s Classics pizzas are $6 each (plus another $3 for gluten-free) every day at the moment. Sure, I would have saved $1 per pizza if I purchased them on Tuesday, but I spent Tuesday at home and hadn’t washed my hair. I hadn’t washed it for a few days actually, so it did not need to go out in public.

Back to pizza – I ordered the Italiano and the Ham and Cheese pizzas from Pizza Hut Menai (a fair distance from Domino’s Coogee) and ate slices as I drove home. Unlike Domino’s GF base, I could actually eat the Pizza Hut one with minimal added water. The toppings were ample too, and the base not at all greasy. It lacked that chew you get from real pizza bases with gluten, but this one was enjoyable nonetheless. I am also a fan of a thin-based pizza, and that is how the Pizza Hut GF base comes. It was definitely a superior experience when compared to Domino’s Coogee. I do have a Pizza Hut relatively close to home, but I still need to try Eagle Boys’ GF pizza bases. Then I need to find out if my local Pizza Hut is as generous with toppings as Menai.

Leave a Reply

