A detox weekend

Detox breakfast: fruit salad

I know I said I was going to ride more often, but I’d also been craving a detox weekend – where I generally feel too lethargic by the second day to go out for a ride. Also, I tend to really need food when riding and none of the recipes in the detox book are all that transportable…

Uni has been getting a bit more insane lately, and I completely acknowledge that I’ve been eating crap (although that’s also a result of not getting a fruit & veg box every fortnight as I have in the past, but there are various reasons for that). I refuse to do stupid detoxes which are based on fasting – so following Max Tomlinson’s Clean Up Your Diet plans (which include plenty of food) keeps me happy.

I picked the Weekend Detox Plan (there are three “diets” – Detox, Digestion Tune Up and Energy-boost – and three plans for each diet starting with a weekend, extending to a week and finally there’s a four-week plan), stocked up on the necessary ingredients and had a pretty enjoyable weekend. I went for a swim on Saturday morning (to bid adieu to any energy I may have had in reserve) and then stuck to the program… well, except for a bit of a bread and butter moment on Sunday involving a pizza crust (Baking Society meeting the next day + new pizza crust recipe = needing to sample the crust, and I added butter to help me chew it as it was a bit dry sans toppings.)

I did take photos of all the food, but my camera is old and sometimes does weird things in poorly lit conditions… so only my breakfast shots look good. And I had the same breakfast both days – a large helping of fruit salad.

Leave a Reply

